WorkSafe Month 2018

WorkSafe Awards 2018

About the Awards

The WorkSafe Tasmania Awards are conducted every two years to:

  • promote, encourage and publically recognise innovation and excellence in work health, safety, wellbeing, rehabilitation and return to work
  • influence the Tasmanian community’s attitudes and values towards work health, safety, wellbeing, rehabilitation and return to work, to encourage a change to positive behaviours and broader workplace engagement.

Read on to find out about 2018’s new categories and entry criteria.

Entering the Awards

Entries for the 2018 WorkSafe Awards will open early March.

Entries will close at 11.59pm on Sunday 3 June.

You can enter the WorkSafe Awards:

  • as an organisation or individual (depending on the category)
  • if you have a relevant initiative that is in the development stage, newly implemented or fully implemented that fits one of the seven categories
  • if you have achieved positive outcomes in work health, safety, wellbeing, rehabilitation and return to work

How to enter

Entering is easy; just follow these steps:

  1. Choose your category or categories (each category will require its own entry).
  2. Prepare your entry online. You will be able to save your entry and return to it at a later time.
  3. Gather your supporting documents and evidence, including several high resolution images of your initiative and a high resolution version of your company logo in either .EPS or .JPG or .TIFF. Images embedded in other documentation will not be accepted.
  4. Complete the online checklist to ensure you have provided all the necessary information and documentation.
  5. Read and agree to the Terms and Conditions.
  6. Submit your entry.

Awards categories

  • Category 1: Excellence in work health and safety through the implementation of an integrated systems approach
  • Category 2: Excellence in developing and implementing an initiative (solution) to an identified work health and safety issue
  • Category 3: Excellence in work health and safety culture
  • Category 4: Best individual or team contribution to work health and safety
  • Category 5: Excellence in continuous improvement of rehabilitation and return to work through the implementation of an effective injury management system
  • Category 6: Excellence in an individual contribution to rehabilitation and return to work
  • Category 7: Best workplace health and wellbeing initiative
  • Category 8: Leadership Excellence Award (closed category – entrants for this category are chosen from categories 1 to 7)

Assessment and judging

WorkSafe Tasmania will:

  • check all entries for possible breaches of work health and safety or workers compensation law (including whether there is a current investigation or prosecution, or there has been a conviction or sentence, or there has been a fatality after 31 December 2007)
  • check insurance information
  • validate all completed entries submitted. The validation process is the same for each category. A WorkSafe Tasmania validation officer will visit your workplace to view and confirm your entry
  • assess all entries to select the category finalists and a category winner. Finalists and winners will be announced at a special presentation during the WorkSafe Conference in Hobart in October (date to be confirmed)
  • publicise all Awards recipients through print and social media: