2016 WorkSafe Awards Winners!

Congratulations to the winners and finalists of the 2016 WorkSafe Awards! Their achievements in work health and safety were recognised at the gala presentation dinner at The Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston on 28 October.

For photos of all the winners, see our Conference website plus the December edition of Workplace Issues magazine.

Overall Winner: MerseyLink

2016 WorkSafe Awards winners

This award recognises demonstrated commitment to continuous improvement of work health and safety through the implementation of an integrated systems approach.

Winner: Bell Bay Aluminium

Finalists: Mt St Vincent Nursing Home & Therapy Centre Inc, TasWater

This award recognises excellence in developing and implementing a solution to an identified work health and safety issue. Entries for this award may include a product solution, design/engineering innovation, a training program, awareness-raising activity or other risk control measure that reduces the risk of work-related injury and disease.

Winner: North Eastern Soldiers Memorial Hospital - Scottsdale (Department of Health and Human Services)

Highly Commended: Tasmanian Catholic Education Office, Tassal Group Pty Ltd

Finalists: Asbestos Free Tasmania Foundation, Bell Bay Aluminium, Lion Dairy & Drinks, Safety Solutions (Aust) Pty Ltd, Simplot Pty Ltd, TasWater, Van Diemen Aquaculture Pty Ltd

This award recognises high standard work health and safety practice/s in a small business. The category is limited to small businesses that have fewer than 20 workers or full-time equivalents.

Winner: Mendelssohn Construction Pty Ltd

Highly Commended: Mitchell Plastic Welding, Westbury Community Health & Day Centre Committee

This award recognises individuals who have made an exceptional difference to health and safety. Two awards will be given under the following sub-categories:

  • a worker
  • a work health and safety manager or a person with responsibility for work health and safety as part of their duties.


Winner: John Goram, Tasmanian Networks Pty Ltd

Finalist: Kylie Richardson, Wilkinson’s Pharmacy

WHS manager or person with WHS responsibility

Winner: Martin Judd, TasWater

Finalist: Peter Jones, UCG

This award recognises, at an organisational level, an employer’s outstanding efforts to support the return to work of an injured worker to safe and sustainable work.

Winner: Nyrstar

Highly Commended: MONA

Finalist: Royal Automobile Club of Tasmania

This category acknowledges health and safety representatives (HSRs) who have made a significant contribution and demonstrable difference to work health and safety within their designated workgroups. It recognises the ability of a HSR to:

  • raise WHS issues with the employer
  • work constructively with the employer to resolve issues and
  • demonstrate persistence in difficult environments.

Winner: Nigel Cure, TasWater

Highly Commended: Kayla Onions, Tasmanian Health Service North West

Finalists: (all University of Tasmania) Nicole Dobber, Wenneke ten Hout, School of Human Life Science HSR Group

This category recognises excellence in the successful implementation and outcomes of a workplace health and wellbeing program. There are two awards for this category:

  • organisation
  • individual.


Winner: MerseyLink

Highly Commended: Hazell Bros Group Pty Ltd

Finalist: MyState Bank


Winner: Jessica Kingston, MyState Bank

Highly Commended: Amy Reiner, Browns Supa IGA